James Edward Young
2 min readAug 5, 2023
Cottonbro studios-Pexels

Just Because

You asked me why,
just because you had to know,
why I wear my heart on my sleeve
and why I love you so. I said,
I don’t know why, I just do,
just because you are you and
when you smile at me,
what I feel inside,
is impossible to describe.
I’m not good with words,
but what I feel is not small.
The best answer I know
of why I love you so
is just because, just because I do.
I said it and I’ll say it again
I’ll say it because it’s true
just because, – — just because I do.
I’m not poetic like you, and did
my words come out wrong ?
Did you misconstrue what I said ?
Did I not seem sincere ?
You packed your bags
and you said we were through.
True love can’t just turn off like that.
My life walked out the door and
you took my heart with you.
When I said, why are you leaving
you replied — just because
just because-just because
and that’l have to do.
Now all I have are souvenirs,
little things that mean a lot,
things I collected from us.
I held a picture there, wallet size
my hands shook pretty hard.
I turned away, I couldn’t see, till’
I wiped the tears from my eyes.
Your smile in that photo
was it for me…or…….for us.
I heard myself sigh.
I guess I won’t know any more,
if you and I are through.
What should I do ?
I feel so incoherent
and desperate inside.
Everything reminds me of you.
Oh, don’t you know, I love you so.
Should I beg , I don’t know.
But oh how my heart would leap
to see you coming through the door,
I would hold you in my arms,
hold you tight and never let you go
and kiss over and over and
pray you had a change of heart.
Whatever I did, I’m sorry……… (I’m sorry)……… (I’m sorry)
Can we make that go away ?
I hurt so bad, I just can’t take it anymore.
Could we please try once more ?
I’ll try to become a poet and
say love words better than before.
If the words aren’t right
I’ll search for more.
my mind screams,
Damnit,
I fuckin’ love you
Your’e so perfect for me,
I’ll know, I must slow down
and say “I love you “
more elegantly.
Please please please
Stay with me, stay with me
I’ll be anything you want me to be.
If you ask me why I feel like I do
Why I search for words
to prove everything I feel for you,
I’ll give you the best words there are….
I love you just because……
just because I do.

James Edward Young

I believe in honest true life stories with the thrill of life, romance and strong emotion.